Chapter Two

The sound of his father’s soft snoring filled Lucas’ ears as he stood in the darkness of his parents’ bedroom. A few long slivers of moonlight fell through the window, illuminating the room in a dim, silvery glow. The boy looked down at the pair of sleeping figures, hesitating. Was he really doing the right thing? His parents would be so worried… Would they even know where to look for him?

07-10-15_10-43 PM

A soft sigh escaped his lips as he did his best to chase the doubt from his mind. I can do this. I have to. They’ll understand. “I’m sorry.” He whispered, knowing they could not hear him. “But I have to go home… Goodbye.”

07-10-15_10-44 PM

It felt as though there was a weight pressed against Lucas’ chest, getting heavier and heavier with each step he took down the steep staircase. I can do this, I can do this, I can do this. He crept through the dark dining room and slipped out the back door into the cool night air.

07-10-15_10-45 PM

As Lucas stood in the eerie silence of the backyard, the panic finally began to set in. He glanced around uncertainly. Where am I supposed to go? He wondered.

07-10-15_10-46 PM

The boy’s gaze fell upon the hedge at the edge of the property, which separated their yard from the neighbor’s. Lucas squinted, curious. It was difficult to make out, but he could have sworn that he saw the silhouette of a figure in the moonlight.

07-10-15_10-46 PM-2

He hesitated, not sure whether to feel relieved or nervous. Talking to strangers was always risky, he knew. But maybe they know the way to the bus station

Lucas drew closer, and his presence no longer remained hidden. The young woman turned and looked down at him. There was no going back now.

She’s pretty. He thought. But she looks so sad… And… blue…? Like… literally…

“Um… hello.” He called out, giving a small wave.

07-10-15_10-55 PM

Lucas blinked, and she was gone.

07-10-15_10-57 PM

Huh?! Where did she go? He took a step back, his heart rate rising. Was he going crazy? Seeing things? Maybe his nerves were finally starting to get to him. Maybe this was a mistake. Maybe he should go back inside. Maybe –

“BOO!”

07-10-15_10-57 PM-2

Lucas leapt into the air higher than he ever had in his life. The pale blue woman had materialized beside him, her deep, echoing voice filling his ears and shaking him to the core. He tried as best as he could to stifle his cry of alarm, instead letting out a strangled-sounding squawk. His trembling hands rose defensively, and he took in the sight of the beautiful and frightening apparition.

07-10-15_10-57 PM-4

He’d been right – she was pretty. And blue, in both senses of the word. And, he now realized, translucent. His parents’ patio furniture and the large dining room windows appeared warped and discolored, but visible nonetheless through the girl’s torso. There was a strange, barely-noticeable smoke rising from her shoulders, which bobbed ever-so-slightly as she hovered before him. The boy’s eyes widened and he dropped his hands to his sides.

“Woah…” Lucas stretched his mouth into an excited grin. “Cool!”

07-10-15_10-58 PM

The ghostly woman drew closer to him, and he could see the disbelief in her pale, misty eyes as she leaned over him. “Cool?” She scoffed. “Seriously?”

07-10-15_10-58 PM-2

Without another word, she turned away from him, floating through the hedge back to where she’d come from.

07-10-15_11-20 PM

Lucas raced around the side of the yard to catch up. “Wait!” He called, adrenaline racing through him. This is the most awesome thing that’s ever happened to me!

07-11-15_12-57 AM

The boy rounded the corner, panting. But he was too late, she was gone.

07-11-15_12-45 AM

Lucas lowered his head in disappointment, staring down at the overgrown patch of shrubbery where the girl had stood. There’s something there… He realized, leaning closer. A sliver of white peeked out from beneath the leaves. He pushed some of the overgrowth aside, and could just barely make out the inscription in the stone.

Evelyn Magee

June 9, 1965 – December 21, 1985

In Loving Memory

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chapter Two

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    The plot thickens! Oh Evelyn, I hope you’ve successfully distracted little Lucas from running away! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oooohhhhh myyyyyy goooooossshhhh I LOVE THIS!!!!!! More!! Morreeee pleeeease! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha thank you so much! I am writing as we speak! 😀 Trying to get a few chapters ahead so that I can (hopefully) make a few drafts ahead of time and be able to post updates while I’m away next week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Seriously though, this story is something that If I was in a bookstore and read the back cover description, I would hug it to my chest like, “Ohhhhh!! I’m sooo reading this one!” And just devour it the second I got home!! I love it!!

        Like

  3. This is awesome. I actually jumped when she said BOO! 😀

    Like

  4. lunarokz says:

    This is so awesome! it must take so much work to get the timing right.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anna says:

    Ooooh! Intriguing! Love a ghost with a sense of humour as well as integrity!

    Like

  6. ezigirl says:

    Seems like Evelyn appeared at the perfect time! I love the sentence “Talking to strangers was always risky, he knew. But..” because we all know that once you stick the word ‘but’ in a sentence it erases every statement before that. It’s like saying ‘I don’t mind to be rude BUT’ and you can be sure that something rude is to follow xD So I knew little Lucas no doubt would be talking to this stranger lol

    Liked by 1 person

  7. alienphoenix says:

    Well that’s one way to stop a runaway. Introduce a “cool” ghost :p

    Admittedly I would probably react the same way to meeting a ghost so Lucas isn’t alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. RipuAncestor says:

    Well, Lucas seems to have a great attitude towards finding a ghost woman on his yard. 🙂 I’m liking this already.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yay, I’m so happy you’re reading!!!! 🙂 Thank you! (And Lucas is a little bit of a strange kid hahaha so he thinks it’s AWESOME :P). Oh, and you will be happy to know that I’ve been outlining PNN and I’m hoping to have it off of hiatus next weekend! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Great chapter but am sad that Lucas is running away which he’ll learn won’t solve his problems but add to them. Nice interaction with the ghost.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lovesstorms says:

    Haha! Of course, a ghost would stop him from running away. Ghosts do that all the time. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh yes, he is such a brave kid and so cute too 🙂 I would totally panic in this situation… It was a little scary when she said BOO, but it’s a great timing 🙂 I love your story!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m glad Lucas didn’t run away. His parents would’ve been really upset. Evelyn was cool and blue. I like the way ghosts look in Sims 4. Lucas seems brave having followed her back into the yard. My main character in my story recently encountered “ghost(s)” and she totally freaked. Little kids seem to be more curious and brave than adult Sims.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Ooh I definitely agree with you there! Kids are so brave and so curious! And Lucas is no exception! 🙂 (I’m so happy to see you reading, yay!!!!)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. ARoseInBloom says:

    Ah! So….I mean, I already know just a tiny bit about the story and now my mind is racing to try and fill in the gaps. Oh…I already feel sad for the ghost. But I always empathize with other sad people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

