Chapter Eight

The years seemed to fly by.

Evelyn watched as the sweet and quirky young boy she’d met that cold autumn night grew into a sweet and quirky teenager.

1

As he got older, Lucas developed a love of cooking and fine cuisine (which he tried, quite unsuccessfully, to share with Evelyn. Being dead has its disadvantages – including a lack of a sense of taste). Still, it was nice to see him so passionate about something. It reminded Evelyn of her own passion she once had for music.

2

His parents grew older as well, of course. Damien was promoted to head surgeon at the hospital, and Becca struck a 5-book publishing deal for her new mystery series. Things were going extremely well for the Ainsworths, but more than anything else, seeing their son so happy and thriving brought them joy and peace of mind. They loved their son dearly, and he loved them just as much – Evelyn could tell from the way Lucas spoke about them. It made her miss her own parents sometimes, but she never told him. She loved seeing him happy too much to put a damper on things.

3

Evelyn was sure that another source of Becca and Damien’s happiness was seeing their son make new friends. Lucas had done as he was told – he put more effort into building a relationship with his peers, and Noah and Sam became his two best friends – well, best living friends, at least. Evelyn liked hearing stories about them. Noah sounded like your typical ‘dumb jock’ (though she would never share this opinion with Lucas), but seemed nice enough. Sam was a scrawny, lanky kid who made up for it by oozing charisma and good humor. Evelyn secretly wished she could meet them someday.

4

In his free time, Lucas liked to do research about ghosts and the afterlife, searching desperately for some way to give Evelyn her life back, just like he’d promised her years ago. It seemed a bit silly to Evelyn, but she appreciated his efforts all the same. She loved watching him do his late night research; it was fascinating to see all of the amazing things computers were capable of – And watching Evelyn’s failed efforts as he tried to teach her to use Google seemed to amuse Lucas very much.

8

The hours she spent with Lucas were the highlight of Evelyn’s every week.

8b

Though they did not spend as many nights together as they had when he was younger, Lucas always made time for her.

9

And Evelyn couldn’t complain. After spending nearly two decades alone, it felt so good to have someone to spend time with, even for a little while.

10

Someone who understood her better than anyone ever had.

11

It was the oldest cliché in the book, but for years Evelyn had the same thought every time they were together.

12 (2)

He makes me feel alive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Chapter Eight

  1. Lux Conant says:

    Wow, he grew up already. I’m glad he didn’t listen to what everyone said and he kept talking to Evelyn.
    Is she in your household? I don’t know if ghosts disappear after a while if you don’t play them.

    Like

  2. ninjapigsims says:

    Aww these two! ❤ Lucas aged up well! 🙂

    Like

  3. Lucas aged up to be so handsome. And the final sentence about how Lucas makes Evelyn feel. Oh… All the feels!!! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Aww, thank you so much! I’m so glad you’re enjoying this! 🙂 I admire your story so much, so it’s very flattering to know that you’re enjoying mine too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lunarokz says:

    Aww. That was so sweet. Love Evelyn.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on kitdragonflight and commented:
    And that does it. I am in love with this story, and this couple!

    Like

  6. cathytea says:

    For a ghost to say, “He makes me feel alive,” adds a different depth of meaning!

    Like

  7. That last line, POW!! Right in the feels!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. alienphoenix says:

    Beautiful update 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Simslover163 says:

    Wow, Lucas sure got great looks and I love how you change his parents’ look to reflect their ages! It’s interesting that he’s talking to a ghost and it seems that she’s important to his life! Now I wish I want ghosts in my Sim Town, so I can make up a story about one of my Sims seeing the ghost of his/her old friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      This story has made me love playing ghosts! 🙂 and there is so much interesting storytelling potential so I highly recommend it! 🙂 (also, thank you for reading! I love doing character makeovers to show them get older! If you read more of the story, you will see 🙂 thanks again for reading!)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. RipuAncestor says:

    Aww, this is sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lovesstorms says:

    He did grow up fast, but you gotta do that sometimes. I’m glad they are still friends and I’m also glad he has alive friends also. I feel like it balances things.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. H. Fox says:

    Hello! I just realized that I had read almost 8 chapters without commenting. Love the story and the concept. I like that they met when Lucas was still a child and that he held on to his friendship with Evelyn despite what his parents said. And as some others mentioned he is very handsome! Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!!!! I am always so excited and happy when I have new readers ^_^ I am so exited that you’re enjoying Dust to Dust so far 🙂 This story is so special to me and I really love it when others enjoy it as well! I hope you enjoy what’s to come (there is a LOT ahead for Lucas and Evelyn hehehe) Thank you again!

      Like

  13. I’m so glad Lucas is still making time for Evelyn. Their relationship is so sweet. I’m so glad Evelyn has a friend too as I can imagine being halfway between life and the afterlife must be depressing and lonely at times. I hope he really does find a way to bring her back to life. I also hope he doesn’t lose her as a friend as he keeps growing older. I can’t wait to see where their relationship is headed.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ARoseInBloom says:

    She’s falling in love. Or is in love. This is going to be tragic. I can tell. I’ll need boxes of tissues. Costco sized boxes. *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

