Chapter Twenty-Two

Lucas snuck quietly out the back door and crept across the patio toward Evelyn’s grave. He’d just finished having cake with his parents, and Noah and Sam would be there any minute to pick him up. It would have to be quick, but he wanted to see Evelyn tonight, even just for a few minutes.

“Happy Birthday, handsome.” She raised her arms excitedly and smiled as he approached, though her entire form glowed a soft blue. Lucas knew exactly what it meant.

1

“Thanks!” He replied cheerfully. “Another year down…”

He paused for a moment, looking at her curiously. “What’s wrong?” He asked seriously.

07-27-15_12-04 AM-2

Evelyn sighed. “It’s silly.” She shook her head.

“Try me.”

07-27-15_12-03 AM

She bit her lip. “You’re older than me.”

“…Huh?”

“You’re older than me.” Evelyn repeated, embarrassed. “Tonight’s the big one, right? 21? Finally legal?” She tried to smile. “That makes you officially older.”

Lucas shook his head, pointing toward Evelyn’s nearby grave. “Nope.” He said. “See what that says? 1965. So you’re…” He paused for a moment, counting. “Damn, you’re less than 6 months away from 50!” Lucas cried in mock surprise. “You’re way too old for me, Ev. Not the other way around.”

Evelyn could not help but laugh, and Lucas quickly joined in.

07-27-15_12-03 AM-2

“Thanks, that doesn’t sound creepy at all.” She giggled. “You know what I mean though.”

“I do.” Lucas agreed, his voice solemn.

“I always knew this would happen… I guess it just feels so soon…”

“Let’s not worry about it, okay?” Lucas reached out and held her hands gently in his. “It’s not a big deal.”

07-27-15_12-13 AM

They were cold and weightless to the touch, like a fine mist. He thought back to his dream from the night before. Just once, he wished he could hold a warm hand in his…

What am I thinking? He quickly chased the thought away, embarrassed for even considering it.

“Look, I should probably get going… The guys’ll be here any minute.”

Evelyn nodded sadly. “Okay… Well, have fun.”

Lucas smiled crookedly. “Of course.”

“But not too much fun.” She teased, a small smile coming to her lips.

He rolled his eyes, but the smile did not leave his face. “Love you, Ev.”

“You too.” She smiled.

Lucas gently let go of the ghost’s hands and turned to head back inside.

He waited until he knew he was out of sight before letting his head hang low. He’d give anything for Evelyn to be able to come too. We can’t even celebrate my birthday together…

07-27-15_12-14 AM

No. Lucas told himself firmly. He wasn’t going to mope around like this. Not tonight. It was his 21st birthday, something he’d been looking forward to for a long time, and nothing was going to hold him back.

He looked over his shoulder for one last glance at Evelyn, but she had already vanished back into the darkness of her grave. With a small shrug, Lucas lifted his head, put a smile on his face, and headed back inside to await his friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chapter Twenty-Two

  1. Reblogged this on kitdragonflight and commented:
    Aw, that is so sad!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmmm. Seems like he’s pulling away. So sad.

    Like

  3. Wolfy29 says:

    Aw, this is so sad. Him and Evelyn were like glue before he turned YA but now the relationship is crumbling so quickly! I wonder if it’s too late for the plant/potion to help their relationship or if it’s too late for them now. Hopefully he’ll still make the potion so she can have a shot at life again, even if it’s without him.

    Like

  4. Lux Conant says:

    I’m scared lol I’m finally able to read but I decided to skip the thread and some comments on others so I wouldn’t read any spoilers this time but I know something happened because people are mad. I read that much.

    Like

  5. whattheplum says:

    If he goes and touches another girl, I’ll.. I’ll.. *grumbles*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. beckycat1221 says:

    We are talking about age now? oh boy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Simslover163 says:

    Sorry if I’m going fast, but this is so engaging and dramatic!! Lucas has now aged up and it’s sad that Evelyn will not be celebrating his birthday with him 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Nothing wrong with reading quickly, as long as you’re enjoying it! 🙂 Things will get even MORE dramatic, just wait… 😉 Haha Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I think the message of ‘Don’t mope around’ arrived a little too late. Poor Lucas as the realities of life begin to sink in.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. simmingwithcece says:

    I just found this story last night and I just can’t stop reading !!! This is so amazing !! You have such a talent !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you SO much for checking out my story! I appreciate it very very much ❤ I hope that you enjoy the rest! This story was very near and dear to my heart! Also, thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts! It means a lot to get such kind comments and know that people are enjoying my story!!! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  10. lovesstorms says:

    ——

    I don’t even know what to say. I’m super sad right now. Good job for getting me to feel that, though. You see, I can’t go to bed until I feel happier. 😐

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ARoseInBloom says:

    Ugh! I can feel them drifting apart and I just want to reach out to both of them and give them hugs. I’m so sad he hasn’t been able to find anything that would bring Ev back to life. Sadness all around.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. CitizenErased14 says:

    That is incredibly sweet of you to say, seriously. Thank you so much! It is my dream to publish a book one day. I am even considering taking Dust to Dust and adapting it into something non-sims and publishable. Right now it’s just a dream… But in a few years, who knows? 🙂

    Thank you again for reading and for your wonderful compliment! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

