Chapter Twenty-Five

Lucas could feel his heart racing as he followed the terrifying figure. What does he want? Where is he taking me? To his surprise, he was led to the small park that lay behind his house.

“Why did you take me here?” Lucas asked nervously, finally finding his voice.

1

The figure shrugged. “Seemed better than just standing on the sidewalk.” He chuckled, gesturing toward a nearby bench. “Sit with me.”

Lucas did as he was told, glancing nervously around him.

“Ah, the sunrise… beautiful.” The cloaked figure leaned back, seemingly content. “It’s not very often I get to enjoy the little things, you know… I’m a pretty busy guy.” He laughed.

Lucas gulped. “So… Are you really… Uh…” He paused, taking a deep breath. “Are you… who I think you are?” He tried again.

2

“Well, that depends… Who do you think I am?”

“Um, well…”

“Bahahahahaha!” The being cut Lucas off with a fit of laughter. “Don’t tell me – ‘Death’? ‘The Grim Reaper’? You humans are so unoriginal…” He paused. “But yes, boy. That’s me.”

Lucas felt a knot in his stomach. “And… what is it that you want with me?”

“I’ve been watching you for a while, my boy. You and that girlfriend of yours.” He paused, chuckling. “It was amusing, at first… Then dreadfully boring… Looks like even you agreed with me there.” He added. “Your beloved Evelyn turned into the ol’ ball and chain, huh?” Lucas could almost hear the smile in his voice.

“And now, well, things have been much more interesting since that little escapade on your birthday…”

Lucas’ eyes went wide. “You know about that?!” He asked, horrified.

3

Death shrugged. “I know about everything. And I know you’ve spent the past 9 years trying to find a way to undo what happened to your girl.”

Lucas just stared, dumbstruck.

“It was pretty fun, watching you bark up the wrong tree for so long… But now, to see you wallowing in all this… guilt… Even I have my limits, you know.”

“W-what are you saying?”

“I’m saying, you feel awful about what you did, don’t you?”

“O-of course.”

“And fulfilling your promise to your little girlfriend, well… That’d be the perfect way to make it up to her, wouldn’t it?”

Lucas nodded.

“So, I’m here to help!” Death said happily.

4

Lucas felt uneasy. There was something almost too good to be true about this offer. “What’s the catch?” He asked nervously.

“No catch at all! Well… Technically, you need a catch…” Death laughed to himself.

“Huh?”

Death explained that there was a very special, very rare fish he needed if he wanted to help Evelyn. It was an angelfish… But not any normal angelfish. This one was exceedingly rare, and could only be found in the deepest, most hidden waters of the world. “You’ll know it when you see it.” He assured him.

5

Next, he would need a rare flower, known to humans as the “Death Flower” (though it seemed Death did not appreciate this name). It could only be cultivated under the strictest soil conditions, bred through the cross-pollination of several different types of plants.

“That crazy old woman gave you a nice start, my boy.” Death explained. “But you must look much deeper to find what you need. And once you do… This plant takes years to reach harvest.”

6

Lucas said nothing for several moments, trying to take it all in. “So I need a fish… and a flower?” He asked uncertainly.

Death nodded. “It’s as simple as that.” He assured him. There was something in the being’s tone that made Lucas feel uneasy. “Well… maybe not that simple…”

Death rose to his feet. “This is a big undertaking, boy. But I’m sure you’re up to the task.” He stretched his bony arms above his head, yawning slightly. “Well, it was nice talking to you. I’d better be going.”

Huh? “W-wait!” Lucas looked up at him in confusion. “What am I supposed to do with them once I have them?”

“You expected me to tell you that much? Oh, come now! Where’s the fun in that? You’re a smart boy, I’m sure you’ll figure it out.” Death waved cheerfully as the smoke from around his feet grew and grew, enveloping him in a black screen.

8

“Hey, wait!” Lucas rose to his feet, but he was too late. He was all alone.

The young man sat back on the bench, remembering everything that Death had told him. A flower and a fish… It sounds so easy when you put it like that…

But how easy could it truly be? It doesn’t matter… I’ll do it no matter what. I promised Evelyn. Lucas told himself firmly. I owe this to her.

He would give the ghost her life back, and everything would fall into place. Their relationship would be fun again. They could finally go on real dates, meet new people. They could be a normal couple.

Then maybe he wouldn’t feel so trapped anymore. Maybe he would finally forget about that beautiful woman from the bar…

The warm morning sun washed over his face, bringing Lucas back from his thoughts. He pulled his phone from the pocket to check the time, and his eyes went wide. I’m late!

He took off at a run back toward the sidewalk, slightly frantic. But through his panic, Lucas found himself feeling hopeful for the first time in years. It had seemed for so long like their relationship was doomed. But maybe finally things would start turning around…

9

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Chapter Twenty-Five

  1. Lux Conant says:

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad he helped him but why did Grim help Lucas? I don’t trust him.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Jes2G says:

    Oh boy. Why do I get the feeling of something ominous coming? And also…how many more years of ball and chain? lol

    Liked by 2 people

  3. cathytea says:

    I’m enjoying this so much! It reminds me of old movies from the 30’s and 40’s. Fantastic plot! And I can almost hear the music of the soundtrack in some of the screenshots!

    Like

  4. theplumbob says:

    Interesting, I wonder what Grim’s agenda is! It also kind of makes me wonder, now that it’s lookin g more feasible – say Lucas is successful in bringing Evelyn back to life, would that be the end of the story? Something tells me it would not (Obviously I’m not expecting an answer from you on that front, I’m just pondering to myself haha!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. raerei says:

    Sorry kid. I’m afraid it won’t be that easy. But be strong. And make the journey worth the destination at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hmmm. The Grim Reaper has me worried. What does he expect in return? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. alienphoenix says:

    I find it odd that the Grim Reaper would just help out like that. And as to the cure for Evelyn I really hope Lucas succeeds but he needs to do it for the right reason (to help Evelyn not to ease his guilt). I think he should tell her the truth and then worry about bringing her back.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Virtualee says:

    is the reaper setting Lucas up for his untimely death mayhaps?!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Trip says:

    As someone else with a story point hinging on ambrosia (albeit the easier-to-make TS3 version), it’s one of the hardest things to introduce in a story. I consider it a “necessary weak point” in my story. I’m glad that here, it probably won’t be a magic bullet with no strings attached. We still have about 70 chapters to go, after all. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha yes, it’s hard to introduce for sure! Know what’s actually kinda funny? Originally Lucas was gonna find out about the ambrosia kinda on his own through lots of research. Then when I was playing, Lucas happened to be walking through the park when someone died and the grim reaper showed up. And I thought to myself “OMG what if I have Lucas meet Grimmy in my story?” And then it all snowballed from there haha

      But yes, I made it a little more complicated. You’ll see 😉 (well, you’ve read very far ahead so you’ve kinda already seen XD But you’ll see even more clearly now :P)

      Thanks for reading! (I say that alllllll the time, but I really do mean it haha)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. beckycat1221 says:

    This is getting good

    Liked by 1 person

  11. RipuAncestor says:

    Heheee, I’m liking this Death despite him being a bit of a jerk. And I guess partly BECAUSE he’s kind of a jerk but still seems like a decent… uh, being. I like morally ambiguous characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yep, a moment of helpfulness from Mr Grim does spell trouble like it will take the rest of Lucas’ life to accomplish that but guess that’s where this story is headed. Don’t worry it’s still exciting to see how he accomplishes the feat.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. lovesstorms says:

    Ironically Death is helping him. Fantastic! And that’s not sarcasm either.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ARoseInBloom says:

    Oh, Lucas!!! It’s not that simple and you have to be patient. And good to Evelyn. You can’t bring her back to life and then ditch her for another woman! No! That would be awful…

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      You’ll see what happens…. But I think you’re right — definitely not as simple as Grimmy made it seem!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

