Chapter Thirty-Seven

Lucas felt like he could barely breathe as he followed Evelyn into the living room, flicking the light switch as he went. This can’t be good…

“Ev… What’s going on?”

1

Evelyn began speaking softly, not bothering to turn around and face him as she did so. “Your parents went out to use the hot tub tonight.” She began. “I was sitting in the grass, just watching the stars, when I heard them come outside.” Evelyn paused. “Not a big deal… It’s not like they can see me anyway, right? So I stayed…”

Lucas could feel a hidden wave of panic within him begin to rise. He knew exactly where this was going. “Evelyn…”

She ignored him, continuing in the same soft tone as before. “And then they started talking. And they were having the strangest conversation.”

Oh God… “Ev, just… just listen, okay?”

“They were wondering when you’d be back from your date.” She continued, her voice calm and steady as she spoke. “And then they started talking about how nice this ‘Melanie’ is, and how happy she’s been making you…”

She turned to face him then, but Lucas could not bring himself to meet her gaze. He walked past her, his eyes downcast as he was overwhelmed by the sensation of his stomach twisting into a thousand knots.

2

“Why would they be saying that, Lucas?”

He turned away from her. “…You know why.”

“I need to hear you say it.” She floated toward him until he was finally forced to look her in the eye.

“Please… Don’t…” He pleaded.

3

Evelyn hung her head low. She said nothing, but Lucas could hear her sniffling softly.

“Evelyn, just… Just let me explain.” Lucas couldn’t bear to see her tears. “I love you, okay? I need you to know that…” He reached out for her, placing a hand on her shoulder.

4

She pulled back sharply. “Don’t touch me!” Evelyn turned away, as though she could not stand to look at him.

5

“I… I don’t know what to say, Ev…” Lucas shook his head. “Jesus… I never meant for it to happen like this…”

“Is that supposed to make me feel better?” Evelyn snapped. “And when exactly were you planning on telling me about this girlfriend of yours?”

“I don’t know… W-we were just friends at first. I messed up. I’m sorry, I…”

“Just shut up, okay? Shut up!” Evelyn was practically shrieking as her pale blue hue gradually deepened toward crimson. “I don’t need an apology. I just need to know why.”

Lucas sighed. “We both know why…” It was no use trying to deny it any longer. “I love you. I always will, Ev… But I can’t do this anymore. I mean, look at Sam and Laura — having a baby, starting a family…” He took a deep breath. “And Noah showed me the ring he bought for Cam last week…” He looked down at the carpet below his feet, unable to meet her gaze. “Seeing them get to do all that…” Lucas shook his head. “It’s… It’s just like you said it would be… Isn’t it?”

“Exactly!” Evelyn floated toward him. “I tried to warn you! I told you it would never work. I told you I would be holding you back. I told you one of us would get hurt…” She shook her head, disgusted. “But you promised me that would never happen. And I was dumb enough to believe you…”

6

“What do you want me to say? I can’t help how I feel…” He paused. “But I never meant to hurt you. I swear.”

Evelyn’s entire form shined brightly, pulsating with a fiery glow. It was almost frightening. “Is that so? And how was lying to me supposed to help with that, exactly!?” She demanded, throwing her arms in the air. “How long have you been going behind my back? Since your birthday? Because that’s when this whole thing started… I don’t know how I didn’t see it until now.”

7

“Mel had nothing to do with that.” Lucas replied defensively. “That was… different.”

Evelyn’s eyes widened. “So she’s not the first, then?”

“No! I mean yes!” Lucas groaned in frustration. “It was just… different, okay? I… I was drunk. And I did something stupid…” He admitted. “But it’s not the same!”

“I see…” Evelyn nodded. “So you had some drunken fling, lied to me about it, tossed that girl aside as soon as you get bored, and moved right on to the next one like it was nothing.”

“No! It’s not like that at all, I –”

“And now it’s my turn.” Evelyn interrupted. “Should I be flattered you waited this long with me? Maybe I need to warn this ‘Mel’ of yours that it’s only a matter of time before you kick her to the curb too.”

Lucas had reached his breaking point. “Jesus Christ, Ev! How can you even say that? You know I’m not like that.”

8

“Oh really?”

Really!

“Then tell me how this is any different.”

“I’m not ‘tossing’ you aside, Evelyn, alright? Will you just listen to me?”

“I think I’ve heard enough, thanks.”

“Aaaargh!”

9

Neither of them spoke for several moments. They simply glared at one another, a thousand bitter and hurtful thoughts floating unspoken between them. Lucas tried taking a few deep breaths to calm himself. It almost worked.

10

“I never wanted to be a burden to you.” Evelyn said, after a few moments. Her voice was considerably calmer than it had been a few moments before. “I never wanted to hold you back.” She paused. “But I never wanted to be lied to, either. Or strung along… And that’s exactly what you did, Lucas. You made me so happy. You actually made me believe that I could finally…” She shook her head, leaving the thought incomplete.

“And now you’ve taken it all away from me, just like that. You could have talked to me. You could have told me how you feel. But instead you went behind my back for who knows how long… And then I had to find out like this? God, you didn’t even have the decency to let me down easy.” A short, bitter laugh escaped her lips.

“I never thought I’d say this… But I wish I never met you, Lucas. I really do.”

10b

Her words were like a knife through his heart. “You don’t mean that, Ev. C’mon…” Lucas tried to choke back the sudden wave of emotion that had welled up inside of him.

“But I do. It would have been so much easier… For both of us.” She shrugged her shoulders sadly. “But it doesn’t matter now. You won’t have to worry about me bothering you anymore.” Evelyn turned and began floating toward the doorway.

“Wait!” Lucas cried. “So that’s it then? You’re just gonna walk away? Never talk to me again? Just like that?” He asked, incredulous. “What about bringing you back? What about my promise?”

Evelyn merely glanced over her shoulder. “You were never doing that for me. We both know that.” She turned away. “Goodbye, Lucas. I hope you have a wonderful life.”

10c

She floated through the open archway and out of sight.

“Goddamn it… Don’t be like this… Come back!” Lucas followed close behind, but she was too fast for him. By the time he reached her grave, Evelyn was already gone.

12

“Ev, please. I know you can hear me.” He looked down at the crumbling marble stone as he spoke. “I fucked up, okay? Bad. But I’m sorry. Just… come back so we can talk about this. Please.”

The quiet whistle of the cool evening breeze was his only reply.

13

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Chapter Thirty-Seven

  1. julyvee94 says:

    *sniff sniff* this is so sad 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. O'jenn says:

    I cried, like literally tears streaming down my face. Did you write this without crying? I think we all need a group hug or something.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh my goodness, I cried so much! Do you remember me posting in the Lounge a few days ago about crying while writing? That was this. 😥 I’m sorry I made you cry though. We all knew it was coming, I think… But Evelyn found out in the worst possible way… :-/ I’m basically a monster for doing this to them haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ninjapigsims says:

    *hugs you, Evelyn and Lucas* 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theplumbob says:

    Well, I sided with Lucas for ages but this time Evelyn is absolutely right. If he hadn’t been such a coward and dragged this out for ages, she wouldn’t have had to have found out this way, and he would have still had her respect. Lucas clearly still has a lot of growing up to do. Maybe Evelyn’s right and Melanie deserves better too.

    This was beautifully written by the way. The conversations were very believable and I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time!

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you for your lovely compliment! 🙂 And yes, Lucas did not handle the situation well AT ALL. I think he understands that now (but wayyyy too late, of course!).You will find out tomorrow what ends up happening with Mel — When I came up with the story, I saw two possibilities — one “good” and one “bad”… We will see which outcome Lucas ends up with!

      Like

    • Jes2G says:

      I’m with theplumbob on this! I’m still on #teamlucas (lol), but he had this coming to him. Although I don’t appreciate that Evelyn didn’t hear him out (although the girl in my story that I told you about didn’t hear my guy out either lol), everything she said was true! He has been stringing her along for far too long, and he’s been a coward. Why? Because he IS selfish just like she said in their last argument. He thinks he was keeping things to himself because he didn’t want to hurt her, but he kept them to himself so HE “wouldn’t” be guilty in her eyes, but that doesn’t make him any less guilty!

      In other news…is it evil of me to kinda be glad that Ev is out the way? #sorrynotsorry lol, I mean, I am terrible sorry she had to find things out like this, and I REALLY wished that Lucas would have just talked to her from the beginning. But, at the same time, I want Lucas to be happy! I hope Melanie isn’t too hurt and embarrassed over what she did and doesn’t reject him too.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Lux Conant says:

    I feared this would happen, her finding out this way, overhearing something. “I never wanted to be a burden to you.” 😦 Oh, it’s so sad to see her like this, what’s going to happen to her. I hope he doesn’t just give up on finding the cure, I mean I know she’ll probably be mad for a while and maybe the best for him to do is stay away from her but still work on the recipe. Figure out how he feels and what he wants to do and then find Evelyn and talk honestly. Poor Ev, she didn’t deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yes, this was a super tough one! Lucas doesn’t like to have tough conversations, unfortunately. He chickens out and then awful things like this happen 😦 One of that boy’s many flaws. (He is still my favorite sim/character I’ve ever made though haha I love him)

      Like

  6. Well now I’m crying. And the sad part is that she’s stuck there. She will see if Mel stays for dinner (at night), she will see the progression of his new relationship because she is tied to the grave.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      This was such a tough one for me too 😦 I guess the good news is that technically if she stays “inside” her grave (in that awful darkness), she won’t have to see it? Not much of a consolation, sorry… Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  7. raerei says:

    Oh good, I was worried about angry poltergeist ghosts. Sad ghosts, while tear inducing are at least less vengeful. But yeah – you don’t get to say your pieces without listening to the other person. But she wasn’t really in a place where she *could* listen. Hopefully he finds a way to talk to her and explain that it didn’t happen quite the way she interpreted it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Evelyn definitely didn’t do a very good job listening hahaha. But I also kind of can’t blame her (okay, let’s be honest, I’m the author, so I see inside both of their heads and see BOTH of their sides of it, but still… XD)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Derubelle says:

    Ugh goddammit so many feelings 😥 😥 😥

    Liked by 1 person

  9. whattheplum says:

    Alright, Lucas. Put on your big-boy pants and get your new girlfriend to help revive your ghost girlfriend so she can leave your damned yard, lol! *shakes fist*

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I’m a little torn here. I feel like Lucas and Mel are perfect for each other and I want them to be happy forever but not at this cost…There’s no building happiness on someone else’s misery. And it’s causing me physical pain to see Evelyn rotting in the darkness of her grave, doomed for an eternal sorrow. I can’t feel happy for Lucas and Mel when I know Evelyn is down there, all alone. Her situation seems to me like the worst kind of a torture in the world.
    (Lol, sorry, I’m overly emotional.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      It’s okay to be emotional about it! It’s such a painful situation. I was crying when I wrote this chapter, I will never forget how upsetting it was. 😦

      Like

  11. alienphoenix says:

    While Evelyn is overreacting a little on a couple bits I won’t deny she was dead on about most of it. He should have told her and that shouldn’t have been the way she found out.

    Now I just hope that this means he and Mel can at least be happy and Evelyn can calm down enough that Lucas can still revive her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Ah yes, I’ve always said that if this was TS3, Ev would have the “dramatic” and “over-emotional” traits haha. Like you said though, she’s pretty much right about all the mistakes Lucas made too, of course. There’s still a lot more to come! Thanks again for the comments 😛 I’m loving them 🙂

      Like

  12. Virtualee says:

    Oh…My…GOD…I am glad Lucas didn’t use the lame line so many guys use whilst breaking up “its not you, it’s me”. It’s ok Eve, girl come on over we’ll eat a tub of rocky road and listen to Adelle while wearing unflattering comfy pajamas, and if we run out of junk food we will take a trip to wal-mart in said pajamas and no-one will care.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. medleymisty says:

    Powerful scene here. I feel terrible for both of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Trip says:

    Well that was intense. I do want to side with Ev on how Lucas shouldn’t have been so idealistic. But they’re both sad now and…:'(

    Liked by 1 person

  15. RipuAncestor says:

    Aww, especially the last pictures with Evelyn is so sad and lonely. You see Lucas? This could have been easier if you’d just been honest with her earlier. Or then it wouldn’t have been. Who knows?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Simslover163 says:

    Evelyn finds out about Melanie and she gets angry. So angry that Lucas and Evelyn had a heated argument. After all that, she decides to go away forever? How very sad. 😦

    Don’t worry, Evelyn. I’ll invite you over so we can talk about it over a nice glass of Silent Film and trust me, I’m all ears

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      If this were TS3, Evelyn would have the “dramatic” and “over-emotional” traits hahaha. But she really is so deeply hurt and betrayed right now. She doesn’t know how to deal with it. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  17. lovesstorms says:

    If I could write like this, I’d be a genius. One day, I hope to achieve this type of writing. For now, I’ll dwell on yours. Fantastic job! Not even going to say anything about anyone. Just can’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. shiba306 says:

    This was bound to happen eventually but it still stings like a b*tch.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ARoseInBloom says:

    See, Lucas. This is why you don’t try and keep secrets. They backfire and end up biting you in the butt! Well, now that that’s out of the way…

    This was sad, truly. And at the same time it wasn’t because I feel like it cleared the air between them. It might not have been the healthiest or most fair way to do such, but life isn’t fair and things happen that are beyond our control. So…while I do feel bad for Evelyn because she got strung along, I am also glad that she realizes that Lucas grew up and has discovered actual, living women.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. CitizenErased14 says:

    Yes, this one was so painful. 😦 It still hurts to think of this one!

    Like

  21. Tosses the phone across the room! Dammit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Sorry… 😦 This was so painful to write! (Thank you so so much for reading though! 😀 Now you get to learn where my poor Rosebrooks inherited their communication issues and secret keeping from 😉 Hehe)

      Like

  22. msmarvel98 says:

    I’ve been creeping for 37 chapters and now I’m commenting because god dammit you made me cry!

    I almost didn’t start this story, I was a little overwhelmed by how many chapters there are (just started uni again + your stories are always so good = major procrastination). But from the beginning I’ve loved your writing, the plot, and the characters – they’re both flawed and so human, so sometimes I like them and sometimes I don’t (always loving the way you write them though).

    I have a boyfriend, so accidentally imagining us going through something like this because I have an overactive imagination does not help with the feels this chapter gave me 😭

    I have no idea where the story will go from here – Lucas is so happy with Melanie, and she’s very happy with him. Evelyn knew her and Lucas wouldn’t work from the start, but then there was the possibility of a cure – there was always a chance. Oooh I just don’t know!

    Is there a SimLit award for Favourite SimLit Author of All Time? Because I would give that to you right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh you are so sweet! Thank you so much! I’m so flattered that you’re enjoying D2D! This story is like, my baby haha (and WORLDS different from PNN of course haha)

      I’m really glad you’re connecting with the story… even if it’s sad 😦 This one was so incredibly painful to write. I will never forget it — I totally cried 😦

      Thank you again ❤️

      Like

  23. Bugsie2016 says:

    Hey, things will get better Lucas. You even start a trend with that jacket. (I’m sure it’s the same one Zayne has on at one point in A2A and possibly Lucas (the other one)). 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

