Chapter Forty-Four

What do I do? Lucas asked himself as he stared up at the sky above him.

1

It had been two days, and he still hadn’t given Mel a clear answer. Lucas wanted to say yes, of course. Moving in together, maybe even starting a life together… It was what he’d always wanted. And to be able to share it with Mel would be so perfect.

There was just one thing standing in the way…

Lucas sighed, getting to his feet. It felt so foolish, but he simply could not bring himself to leave his parents’ home for good. Not while Evelyn was still there.

2

I just need to see her once. He decided. So I can let her know I haven’t forgotten her… Lucas shook his head.

It was ridiculous, wasn’t it? Still holding on after all this time? A part of him almost felt guilty. Lucas loved Melanie more than he’d ever loved anyone, and yet here he was, letting himself be held back by another woman…

But this was different. It had been no coincidence, meeting Evelyn all those years ago. He was sure of it. Lucas had always been a believer in fate, and destiny. Evelyn’s destiny was to live again, he’d decided. And his was to bring her back.

Lucas picked up his fishing pole and cast out into the clear water of the pond. If only he could be honest with Mel, and help her understand his hesitation. Part of him wished he could tell her everything. Heck, he’d already come close several times over their past year together. But he could never bring himself to do it.

3

He could only imagine how the conversation would go… “Well, my ex-girlfriend is a ghost who haunts my parents’ house. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve dreamt of finding a way to give her her life back. And Death – did I mention I met him? –told me about these ingredients I need to bring her back, so that’s the secret ‘recipe’ I keep working on…

Oh, and I kinda-sorta cheated on her with you when we first met, and she hasn’t spoken to me since the night we broke up. I feel awful about how I treated her, and she’s still my friend, so I really don’t wanna move out until I’ve had a chance to make amends and let her know I’m still trying to bring her back. So… you understand, right?

Yeah, sure. That’d go really well…

“Fish not biting today, eh?”

Lucas’ mind was brought back to the present by a strange but familiar voice reaching his ears.

4

“Huh?” He turned and looked around, searching for whoever had spoken to him, but there was no one there. That was weird…

5

“Booga-booga!”

“Ahhh! What the hell!” Lucas’ fishing rod went flying and he jumped backward in surprise, cowering away from the figure that had snuck up on him.

6

“Hahahaha still so easily spooked…”

Lucas’ eyes widened in recognition as he stared at the hooded being before him. “You again?”

What could he want THIS time…?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chapter Forty-Four

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    I like the interplay of concerns in Lucas’s mind! I know I would be similarly conflicted too if I was in his position. But not everyone would…a lesser man would have forgotten all about Evelyn by this point.

    Oh no, Grim! Here we go again…

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks! Lucas is definitely feeling conflicted… if it were some “normal” ex-girlfriend, he wouldn’t even give her a second thought, I don’t think. But she was such an important part of his life for such a long time… it’s hard to completely let go, even if he’s moved on to Mel. Poor Lucas will forever be in some sort of anguish, it seems XD (And yes, Grim is back! But why?? *dun-dun-dunnnn*)

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Poor Lucas! So conflicted.

    Like

  3. Jes2G says:

    Man. I really wish he would attempt to tell her, but just as I was thinking that, he was thinking of the words and I was like…hmmm…yeah, maybe that wouldn’t go over so well lol. But, I think he should at least try and feel her out first to see if he could actually say something. “Babe, do you believe in ghosts?” lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. raerei says:

    Oh…darn. I caught up again. 😦 Must read more. I’m so going to cheat and peak at the ending of this story.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theplumbob says:

    That imaginary explanation was hilarious! It sure is a tough one for Lucas!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lux Conant says:

    “Booga-booga!” hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Virtualee says:

    Grim, seriously spill the beans…what’s your ulterior motive?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. RipuAncestor says:

    Oh, Death, you are such a child sometimes. He’s adorable. Also, I like how these chapters are a mix between happiness and sadness, and all kinds of other complicated feelings. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lovesstorms says:

    And just when I thought I wouldn’t see him again…Grim appears.

    I think he should tell her 100%. It’s still a huge part of his life. They won’t be ready to move forward until he shares it all. Plus, (and I might be reading a bit into this because I do that sometimes) I think Mel might be hiding something about Christian, too. She did mention she had made some promises as well to him. Hmm….I’m probably just reading too much into that, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ARoseInBloom says:

    Lucas–that is the EXACT conversation you should have with her. And it WILL be weird, but then no more lies and you can just move on.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. summonerd says:

    Hey. Could you lend the gent with a scythe for a moment? I’d need him for just a minute and return him in the punch of an eye.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

