Chapter Fifty-Four

Evelyn stood in the darkness of her grave, a fiery rage boiling through her entire body.

Will they just SHUT UP about that STUPID BABY!?

14b

Night after night, it seemed to be all the Ainsworths could talk about. It was driving Evelyn insane. She’d hoped that after the second or third broken appliance, they’d get the hint, but all the sickening gushing and babbling on had continued.

From the moment she’d learned about the pregnancy, something in her had snapped. All of the bitterness, hatred, and anger inside of her had been overshadowed by loneliness and sorrow for so many years… But not anymore.

How could Lucas just go on like that without her? How could he get married and start a family – do all the things she’d always dreamed of doing – while she was stuck there in the darkness, forgotten? What happened to ‘always loving her’? What happened to promising to bring her back?

She thought for a moment of Lucas’ once-beloved garden, which had withered away and died years ago… Just like his feelings for her.

He lied to me. He betrayed me. And then he just LEFT… He forgot all about me. And now he’s starting a family with that BITCH who stole him from me?!

Evelyn had never laid eyes on Lucas’ wife – but he’d heard plenty about her from eavesdropping on the Ainsworths. “Mel’s such a sweet girl.” “She’s so smart.” “She’s so pretty.” It used to make Evelyn so sad to hear them say those things. Now, it just made her feel sick. She’s probably just some ditzy blonde bimbo…

Evelyn sometimes liked to imagine what she would do to this ‘Mel’ if she ever got the chance.

14c

Maybe she could just put her in her place, and convince her to back off once and for all.

“Lucas belongs to me. He loved me first. He was supposed to help me get my life back. So just back off and give me back what’s mine!”

18

“I’m sorry… You’re right… Please forgive me.”

19

Heh. Yeah right… As if that would ever happen…

17

What if it were as simple as scaring her badly enough?

21

22

No… that’s letting her get off too easy.

20

What about those old scary movies she used to watch when she was a teenager? Her best friend Caroline always got so freaked out – and was convinced that demonic possession was real.

24

So… what about ghostly possession? She could do it with objects, after all… So why not a person?

25

Kind of creepy… Maybe not even possible… But pretty tempting…

23

Or maybe, worst of all, she’d make Melanie suffer the same fate as her own – a horrible, painful death by fire…

15

And an eternity to wallow in sorrow and loneliness, trapped forever.

16

Let’s see if Lucas still wants her after that… She thought bitterly. He’d get sick of her soon enough… Just like he did with me…

26

They were all silly fantasies for so long. But now…

They’re coming tomorrow night.

That’s what his parents had said, wasn’t it? Evelyn replayed the conversation in her mind, wondering whether she could have misheard it. But she knew she had not.

It had been ten years since she’d last seen Lucas. Ten years. How was that even possible? Evelyn was still trying to wrap her head around it. Would she finally be able to see him again?

What would she say to him? What would she do? It was almost too overwhelming to even think about.

And he’s not the only one who’ll be there… Evelyn realized. This is my chance.

She did not know what she would do, or how. But Evelyn knew she had to do something. She’d been forced to sit by for so long, powerless to do anything. But not anymore.

I’ll finally make them pay…

27

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Chapter Fifty-Four

  1. julyvee94 says:

    Who’s that ghost in the background? 😮 Oh my I’m so excited right now! What will happen when Lucas finds out that Ev is still around :OO btw I really laughed at the blonde bimbo you brought in xD

    Liked by 2 people

  2. theplumbob says:

    Oooooh! Ev is going to meet Christian!!!! *does a happy dance* Why can’t it be tomorrow yet! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • theplumbob says:

      Also, nice use of random bar girl! LOL!

      Liked by 2 people

      • CitizenErased14 says:

        Haha thanks! I was like “Okay, Evelyn has no idea what Mel looks like, so who can I use? Aha! Bar girl!” 😛 (oh, and I’m gonna be asking everyone: did you pick up on the other Easter egg this time around? :P)

        Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Spoiler alert though: you won’t get to see their conversation tomorrow 😦 I’m moving ahead and you’ll end up seeing the conversation in a flashback 😉 Trying to build a little curiosity XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • theplumbob says:

        I finally got it! Christian’s mother was Ev’s best friend while she was still alive! Small world!

        I sort of feel bad for random bar girl. She always gets the worst parts LOL

        Liked by 3 people

      • CitizenErased14 says:

        Ding ding ding! 🙂 I never said her name in a chapter, but in Ev’s character profile, I mention her best friend Caroline who dreamed of being a scientist (which she did go on to do!) 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh no. Ev needs to calm down 😦 hopefully the ghost in the background (Mel’s ex?! I hope sooo.) will talk some sense into her.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh my God! Ev’s best friend was Christian’s mother! Amirite?!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jes2G says:

    (sigh) I’m growing tired of these childish tantrums. I know she can’t help it though. Poor thing. But, MAN, I was really hoping that it was going to end with Christian (that was Christian’s ghost, right?) interrupting her thoughts and delivering Lucas’ message and making her feel so crunchy LOL. Oh well. Maybe next time lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. O'jenn says:

    I am really hoping Christian calms her down, but boy oh boy he has unfinished business too when you think about it. What if he is upset too!!! Angry ghost party anyone?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. bluethundakat says:

    OMG I didn’t get the easter egg until someone said it but DUH. That’s great. Wow. Ur a genius wowowowowow. Also please let that be Christian so they can fall in love and be ghost lovers while their ex lovers are now lovers. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. mana94 says:

    I know Ev is being irrational but I kind of like her this way lol. Isn’t she more attractive when she’s angry? lol

    Liked by 3 people

  9. whattheplum says:

    Her emotion is raw, I love it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. cathytea says:

    LOL! Barbie-Mel is hilarious! 🙂 And… who’s that green ghost jauntily floating towards her? I have my suspicion! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. RipuAncestor says:

    Now, now, Evelyn, if you just let go of your hatred and made up with Lucas you could become the Cool Aunt for the baby. Because what’s cooler than a ghost!aunt? Except… a ninja pirate ghost aunt? Also, it’s hilarious that she imagines Melanie as the one night stand girl she also has never met!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha “ninja pirate ghost aunt”… I love it! And yeah, when I wanted to to Ev’s imagination I was like “hmm… How will I do this?” So I decided to give one night stand girl one more appearance 😛 XD

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Simslover163 says:

    WOW!! My mouth was wide open as I was reading this chapter!! Ev dreams she gets revenge on the girl Lucas saw at his birthday party!! The one that surprised me the most is Ev setting the girl on fire and making her a sad ghost. I’m also excited to see that Ev will see Christian again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha thanks 🙂 I was trying to figure out “What would Evelyn imagine Mel looks like?” and I figured she’d imagine some beautiful blonde bimbo, so… Bam. Birthday girl became imaginary-Mel XD

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Lux Conant says:

    Ooh who is that?
    I wonder if his kid will be the one to finish what he started…
    After all this time and I still don’t know how to really feel about them together

    Liked by 1 person

  14. lovesstorms says:

    Seriously. If she doesn’t want to hear it, then she needs to go down to her hole. Wah!

    The blonde made me laugh. I’m pretty sure she’s the woman Lucas slept with on his 21st birthday. Haha! Nice bringing her back and really letting Evelyn go after her.

    I’m also wondering who the ghost in green is. (Oh, and it seems I was correct. It is the blonde from his party.)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ARoseInBloom says:

    So….go away. Forever. Now.

    Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      LOLOLOL Okay you are not going to like the rest of this story. *fears every future comment*

      Like

      • ARoseInBloom says:

        You should. Evelyn!!!!!!!!! 😡

        Like

      • CitizenErased14 says:

        Oh dear… Hahahaha Well… Sorry?

        Like

      • ARoseInBloom says:

        Naw. I love getting heated over a story–that means it’s good and the writing is engaging!! But just be prepared for my crazy. It’s like reading a great book, but instead of keeping all of my comments about characters/plot in my head….I can just let the author know of the turmoil they’re creating in the moment!

        Like

      • CitizenErased14 says:

        LOL I will do my best to prepare! There are a few chapters coming where I’m dreading your comments, for real XD (Particularly the famous Chapter 77, and basically from there to the end :P)

        Like

  16. Possession! Do it!!!

    Like

  17. msmarvel98 says:

    “Evelyn sometimes liked to imagine what she would do to this ‘Mel’ if she ever got the chance.” No Ev, bad Ev! She’s definitely showing off her immature-teenage side. Can’t blame her though, Lucas gave her so much hope and then took it away in one of the harshest ways possible.

    Didn’t even realise what the Easter egg was! I was very suspicious when Caroline introduced herself and Lucas thought, why does that name sound familiar? I was like, why DOES it sound familiar, who is she???

    Maybe shouldn’t have read the rest of the comments that said the ghost is Christian. Note to self: will not read the comments anymore.

    Also, totally recognised blonde-bimbo from Lucas’s 21st birthday party – because I read that chapter this morning 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yessss the blonde bimbo! Lmao fun fact (since you’ve read PNN) She’s actually the first girl we see Mr Grimm touch/kill 😂 Couldn’t resist! (Also, Juniper’s favorite author is Becca Ainsworth 😉 Hehe)

      Ev is totally being ridiculous and immature here. I feel her pain, but she’s way over the top!!!!

      We will find more about Caroline too. And yeah… the comments can be a touch dangerous hehe

      Like

  18. Bugsie2016 says:

    Ok, predictions are Christian’s mum is Ev’s childhood best friend. The guy in the background at the end is Christian.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

