Chapter Ninety-Three

Krystina yawned softly, shivering slightly in the chill of the early morning air.

Beside her, Evelyn’s brow furrowed slightly in concern. “You really didn’t have to come, you know.” She said softly. “You look exhausted.”

The woman shook her head. “I’m fine.” She assured her friend, stifling another yawn. “I’ve gotta head in early this morning anyway and get ready for the art show next weekend.” Krystina explained. “And besides, it’s been a while since it was just the two of us.” She added kindly.

The ghost’s face softened into a smile. After all these years, Krysti still managed to make time for her, no matter what. “Well, I’m glad you’re here.” She said sincerely.

Evelyn paused for a moment, glancing up at the pre-dawn sky. The sun would begin rising any minute now, and she was running out of time. “I’ve gotta go check on the plant one more time before your dad gets up.” She explained as she crossed through the backyard, beckoning for Krystina to follow her. “Come on.”

The Dionaea Taurus towered over the two women. It was unlike anything either of them had ever seen before — strangely bovine in appearance, with a pair of horns, an appendage that closely resembled an udder, and most unsettling of all, what appeared to be an enormous mouth with a row of sharp white teeth.

11-05-15_7-11-53 PM

“Woah.” The older woman breathed. “It looks like it’s even bigger than last time…”

“It is.” Evelyn confirmed. “Crazy, right?” She said with a smile. “But it fits with everything the book said…” The ghost paused, glancing at the bizarre plant before continuing. “Which means our window of opportunity won’t be very big…”

11-05-15_7-12-54 PM

The Dionaea Taurus was a truly bizarre specimen – and not just because of its unusual appearance. Death’s book, along with the handful of information they’d dug up on the plant over the years, had described its growth as exponential, and its true lifespan as quite fleeting.

Upon reaching full maturity, the book had stated, the Dionaea Taurus will leave its dormant state for approximately 8 to 12 hours. After this time, it will perish.

Evelyn and Lucas knew that this would be their only chance to retrieve the final ingredient. And so they each monitored the plant quite closely, day after day, waiting for their chance. Neither of them were quite sure what the “dormant state” was referring to, but one thing was certain – this was no ordinary plant. In fact, they wondered whether it was truly a ‘plant’ at all.

“It’s so… creepy.” Krystina shuddered slightly as she looked the plant up and down.

11-05-15_7-15-13 PM

“A little.”  Evelyn agreed, though her smile did not fade. “But if it’s really supposed to be helping us, I guess I shouldn’t really be complaining, huh?”

She peered closely at the plant, looking for some sort of change. But it remained just as silent and unmoving as ever, even when she reached out a transparent hand and stroked it gently. Nothing.

“No luck, huh?” Krystina asked. She sounded almost nervous as she spoke, but Evelyn was not sure why.

Evelyn sighed softly. “Nope. Not this time.” She said with a shrug. “But it’s gotta be soon.” She added confidently as she headed back toward where she and Krystina had been sitting. Her friend followed closely behind.

The ghost smiled happily as she sat back at the tiny patio table. “We’re so close, Krysti. I can feel it.” Evelyn paused, her smile widening. “Any day now…”

11-05-15_7-17-21 PM

Krystina looked at her uncertainly, and was silent for a moment. “That’s really great…” Her voice was devoid of enthusiasm as she spoke. “But Evelyn, you and my dad have been saying that for over a year…”

There was something in her friend’s tone that troubled her, but Evelyn did her best to hide her dismay. “I know.” She replied. “But… This is different. Trust me.”

11-05-15_7-18-08 PM

Krystina just shook her head. “I’ve heard that line about a hundred times too…” The woman sighed softly. “Look, Ev. Don’t get me wrong – clearly this is all heading toward something big. There’s no denying that.” She glanced briefly over her shoulder at the enormous plant at the edge of her father’s garden. “But… this is taking a long time, Evelyn. And my dad… I mean… He’s, well…” She left the thought unfinished.

11-05-15_7-19-29 PM

This time, Evelyn could not ignore the unpleasant feeling that washed over her. Her face fell and all the color drained from her form at Krystina’s words. “What are you trying to say?” She asked after a few moments.

Her friend bit her lip nervously. “It’s just… He’s getting older, you know? And after that scare last week…”

11-05-15_7-20-29 PM

Evelyn’s stomach sank. “What scare?”

For a moment, Krystina looked almost amused. “Of course he didn’t tell you…” She shook her head slowly. “You know he’s got some heart trouble, right? Like my grandfather?” Krystina took a deep breath. “Well, last week he went to the emergency room – Chest pain, difficulty breathing… He thought it was a heart attack… It wasn’t, thank God.” Krystina assured her. “But next time… Who knows?” She finished sadly.

11-05-15_7-21-21 PM

Evelyn did not immediately reply. It took her several moments to overcome the unpleasant sensation in her stomach. “But he was fine.” She said at last, her voice small. “Right?”

Krystina nodded.

“So I don’t understand why you’re telling me this.” Evelyn’s tone was hard. “What difference does it make?” The ghost shook her head, glancing up at the lightening sky. “The sun’s coming up. I should really go, Krysti… And so should you.” Evelyn rose to her feet rather abruptly, floating back toward her grave.

The woman sighed, following behind her and struggling a bit to keep up. Evelyn paused when she reached her tombstone, turning to face Krystina as the woman continued speaking.

11-05-15_7-22-01 PM

“Look, Ev, what I’m trying to say is, just… Just don’t forget that things might not work out exactly the way you’re expecting them to… okay?”

“You’re worrying too much, Krysti.” Evelyn replied, keeping her voice as casual as possible. “I appreciate the concern, but it’s all going to be fine. You’ll see.”

11-05-15_7-22-35 PM

Her friend bit her lip. “Okay… Just… You know that if my dad, uh… can’t do it… for whatever reason… I’d do my best, right? I’d try finish what he started.” Krystina promised. “I don’t know how successful I’d be… But I’d try.”

11-05-15_7-22-55 PM

“Thanks, Krysti.” Evelyn replied weakly. “But that won’t be necessary.” It was difficult to tell if she was trying to convince Krystina, or herself. “Thanks for coming. I’ll see you soon, okay?”

11-05-15_7-24-03 PM

“Okay, Ev…” There was a strange sadness in Krystina’s voice as she spoke. “See you soon.”

Evelyn closed her eyes slowly, and when she opened them, she found herself back in the darkness of her grave. The ghost let out a soft sigh as she glanced around at the quiet emptiness that surrounded her, replaying Krystina’s words in her mind.

11-05-15_7-26-14 PM

Why would she say that? She thought. How could she say that?!

But of course, she knew the answer. Because she knows I’d never bring it up myself… It was a thought that was simply too horrible to entertain. But what if she’s right? What if Lucas…?

No. She told herself firmly. Krystina was overreacting, that’s all. 

Lucas would be the one to do it. He would make the cure. He would bring her back. He would stand by her side, and teach her how to live again. It had to be him. And it would be…

Wouldn’t it?

11-05-15_7-27-20 PM

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Chapter Ninety-Three

  1. raerei says:

    Yup. Worth waiting for! And that cow plant…shudders – stay away from it girls! My cowplant likes to eat ghosts as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookthief24 says:

    Oh no. IT IS UPON US.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. theplumbob says:

    Somehow you’ve managed to make the silly cow plant seem ominous! And what a chilling conversation that was. Krysti is such a good person to bring that up even though she knew it would be an uncomfortable comversation! She takes after her mom.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks! It’s a bit of a challenge because it’s so goofy looking hahaha But I need it to feel as serious as I can to fit the tone of my story. And yes, Krysti has matured to be more like Mel 🙂 When she was younger, she had the famous Lucas indecisiveness and wanting to avoid difficult conversations haha but now that she’s older and wiser she’s more like Mel for sure 🙂 Thank you for reading, as always!

      Like

  4. NoaLyn says:

    Oh no I guess what they need from the cowplant won’t be easy to get… Who are they going to sacrifice? :O

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      You’ll have to see what happens! Don’t forget that I have magic, God-like author powers, so maybe the cow plant won’t work the same way it does in the game? (Or maybe it will… Wait and see! Haha I’m a tease, sorry)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. O'jenn says:

    I have this sneaking suspicion that Lucas and Me will be reunited again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. …dear lord in heaven, I know where you are going with this you plum!! Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyy you meanie whyyyyyyyyyyy!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. maladi777 says:

    The idea of Lucas dying before helping Evelyn has been haunting mee for some time too. :o/

    Like

  8. Jes2G says:

    I…I’m trying to figure out what your next move is. I don’t know what to think right now lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Spirashun says:

    I just binge read this from the beginning. I cannot believe the emotional rollercoaster I’ve just been on! You do an incredible job with this! I’m slightly panicking over the cowplant- my fingers are crossed you use your mighty author powers to make it work in a different way 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Wow!! Thank you so so so much for checking out my story! And especially binge reading it haha SO much happens, I can only imagine the ups and downs you felt haha and I’m so glad that you enjoy it! We are very close to the end now (there will be 100 chapters and an epilogue) so you’ll see soon what happens with the cow plant 🙂 Thanks again for reading and commenting! I really appreciate it 🙂

      (PS: my update schedule is Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday/Sunday… Meaning there’s a new chapter scheduled to post in just five minutes 🙂 )

      Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Also, are you on the sims forums at all? I love to recognize binge readers in my story thread with celebratory gifs, but I don’t know if you have an account there 🙂 otherwise, my words of gratitude will have to do 😛

      Like

  10. The Ghost says:

    I’m starting to wonder what the finale is actually going to be, an epilogue or when Ev finally comes back *dramatic gasp* OR BOTHE!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Simslover163 says:

    I’m so excited to see what will happen soon!! *Drum roll* Could Ev be finally have her life returned?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. lovesstorms says:

    Just for the record, I’m terrible with theories. Sometimes I can catch on, but most of the time I’m just along for the ride. All these people with their theories have me boggled as I don’t think about it. Of course, they all had to wait. lol 👿

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

